Female on ledge, looking down and sad

Stigma Series 2022: Global Mental Health Crisis

    1. Join us for a special GLOBE talk series beginning January 2022. We will be featuring informative sessions about the high prevalence of stigmas surrounding mental health from various international perspectives. In recent years, despite advances and increased awareness of mental health issues, global populations continue to face prejudice and discrimination around getting diagnosed and seeking treatment. This series will feature the following topics and international perspectives:

Mental Health and Well-being in Armenian Communities- Dr. Patricia Perez, The Chicago School of Professional Psychology and Dr. Armine Stepanyan Zambre, LA County Department of Mental Health

             February 15, 2022 | 12pm PST/2pm CST/ 3pm EST

This presentation will focus on the mental health and well-being of the Armenian/Armenian-American communities of th greater Los Angeles, California area. Participants will learn about mental health issues specific to this community as well as well-being strategies that are rooted in the Armenian cultural context. The discussion will include clinical and counseling considerations for professionals when working with Armenian/Armenian-American clients. 

Stigma and Mental Health in European Culture – Drasko Djurovic, (Paris School of Business + ESSCA School of Management)

March 29, 2022 | 12pm PST/2pm CST/ 3pm EST 

In 2016, 3.7 % of all deaths in the European Union resulted from mental and behavioral disorders, and in 2018 approximately 13.5 % of all hospital beds in the EU were psychiatric care beds. Nevertheless, the public stigma that involves both the negative and discriminatory attitudes about mental illness is not only found among the general population and media but even among mental health professionals. It very often leads to social exclusion and reduces the likelihood of becoming employed or accessing health care services. The EU still struggles to find the most appropriate way to fight against the stigma of mental illness and the effectiveness of European strategies and action plans has been difficult to evaluate.

Hiding in the Shadows of Stereotypes: The Stigma of Maternal Mental Illness- Dr. Walker Ladd, Saybrook University 

Perinatal mental health disorders are the number one complication of childbirth and the COVID-19 pandemic has increased the risk factors associated with these disorders. Yet these disorders remain undiagnosed and untreated often due to the stigma of mental illness for the birthing person. The powerful social constructs of mentally ill mothers leave women in the shadows of society, preventing many from receiving critical care. This presentation shines a light on the three elements of stigma formation, and how to implement strategies for addressing institutionalized stigma in your community and workplace

           March 24, 2022 | 10 am PST/ 12 pm CST/1 pm EST

Breaking Down Barriers:  Mental Health Challenges in Indian Culture: Dr. Meetu Khosla, University of Delhi, India

Indian culture provides a rich reservoir of traditional knowledge systems and value structures that hold promise to bring about a change in the lives of people. This webinar series delves into Indian techniques of healing that elucidate the pathway to mental health in an efficient and effective way. Dr. Khosla provides deeper training to increase understanding about approaches to health and wellbeing in India. This webinar series aims to increase skills in cross-cultural and cultural awareness while providing alternative, culturally rich approaches to personal health and wellbeing. 

April 19  | 6:30 AM PST/ 8:30 AM CST/ 9:30 AM EST